Awards & Honors

At the 25th Annual CyberPsychology, CyberTherapy & Social Networking Conference (CYPSY25), awards are presented to pay tribute to individuals for their outstanding achievements. This year’s conference will feature these awards:


Lifetime Achievement Award

To celebrate two decades of exciting advances in cybertherapy as well as the growth of the CyberPsychology, CyberTherapy & Social Networking Conference itself, we are proud to announce the 25th Annual CyberTherapy Lifetime Achievement Award.

This award has a tradition of honoring a person who has demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievements in the fields of advanced technologies and healthcare. It is the highest honor given by our community. All members of the CyberPsychology, CyberTherapy & Social Networking Conference Program Committee are invited to nominate one of their colleagues as a recipient of this award, which promises to honor a long line of esteemed researchers.


CRC-Clinical Cyberpsychology New Investigator Award for a presentation of outstanding research quality

The aim of this prize is to reward the presentation of strong methodological studies at the Cybertherapy conference. The recipient has to be a researcher who is new to the field of cyberpsychology. It is open to both oral / symposium and poster presentations and to researchers from all countries and disciplines. The award is delivered by Stéphane Bouchard, chairholder of the Canada Research Chair in Clinical Cyberpsychology. It includes a certificate and a check of 1 000 $ US.

Rules of attributions:

The first criterion to assess the submissions is the scientific merit of the study. Rigorous designs, reliable measurements, adequate sample sizes, appropriate statistical analyses and strong control conditions are all significant assets. The scientific quality of the content of the presentation will also contribute (i.e., clear and replicable descriptions of the methodology), but not the visual quality of the presentation (e.g., images or videos).

The recipient must be the first author of the presentation, have the oral / poster accepted for the conference, submit the presentation in time for the award (the deadline is September 3rd 2021), pay the registration dues and personally attend (online or otherwise) to the conference. His or her intellectual contribution must be significant (e.g., not the main results of a funded study planned and conducted by a senior researcher in the field but presented at the conference by a student). In case of doubt, please explain the situation in writing when submitting your presentation to the award.

A new investigator in the field is defined by meeting one the criteria below. The applicant must state in writing which criteria are met when sending the submission:

  • currently a university student;
  • currently a post-doc researcher;
  • currently an autonomous researcher but not having published as first author more than five peer-reviewed papers on VR or cyberpsychology since the end of the Ph.D. or the post-doc;
  • currently an autonomous researcher but not having received more than two major research grants on VR or cyberpsychology.

The content of the presentation must be submitted no later than September 3rd 2021 to Evaluation of the submissions will be conducted during the week prior to the conference, based only on the document submitted. The recipient will be informed publicly during the conference.

All reviews will be made by Stéphane Bouchard, excepted for presentations involving collaborators to the Chair (e.g., students, co-investigators). The best submissions will be selected and ranked-ordered by Stéphane Bouchard according to their scientific merit. Submission from collaborators to the Chair will be reviewed by an independent reviewer (last competition, Pedro Gamito), compared to those rank-ordered and placed accordingly in the ranks. To maximise impartiality, the decision of the independent reviewer will be final.

Checklist for submitting a presentation to the CRC-Clinical Cyberpsychology New Investigator Award

When you submit your presentation, make sure to:

  • send your application by the deadline;
  • state that your oral / poster has been accepted to be presented to the conference;
  • state that you made a significant intellectual contribution to the study;
  • state that the study was approved by a research ethics board or committee;
  • state which of the above definition of new investigator in the field of VR applies to you;
  • state any conflict of interest with the chairholder (Stéphane Bouchard) that would justify an independent evaluation;
  • send a copy of your powerpoint presentation to If the powerpoint file is too large to be sent by e-mail, try via a sharing site (e.g. DropBox or FTP site), or send a paper copy (one slide per page) by FAX (819-595-2250) or by mail (Stephane Bouchard, Dept. of psychoeducation and psychology, Université du Quebec en Outaouais, PO Box 1250 Station Hull, Gatineau (Qc), J8X 3X7 Canada). Do not sent additional information (e.g., submitted paper, proceedings, vitae, etc.).

If you have any question about this award, please contact Stéphane Bouchard by e-mail or by phone (819-595-3900-ext. 2360).

The creation of this award is made possible by a Canada Research Chair (CRC) grant ( awarded to Stéphane Bouchard for the CRC in Clinical Cyberpsychology. It is not awarded by the CRC program or by the Cybertherapy organisation committee.

Past recipients are listed below:

Patrick Bordnick  (2004)
Sophie Côté (2005)
Daniela Villani (2006)
Jinsun Hahm (2007 & 2008)
Kevin Kiwon Park (2009)
Marta-Ferrer Garcia (2010)
Sin-Hwa Kang (2011)
Pietro Cipresso (2012)
Sungkun Cho (2013)
Filippo La Paglia (2014)
Sandra Poeschl (2016)
Hyunjeong Kim (2017)
Bruno Porras-Garcia (2018)
Geneviève Belleville (2019)


Young Minds Student Poster Research Awards

To showcase outstanding achievements in a student poster presented at the CYPSY Conference, the Young Minds Research awards, sponsored by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. publishers and its CyberPsychology, Behavior and Social Networking Journal, are presented to four projects judged to have the greatest potential to contribute to the innovative field of cyberpsychology, cybertherapy, training, and rehabilitation.

All posters submitted by student presenters – those who have not finished their PhD program – are eligible to compete for the four $250 awards. Posters will be judged by the scientific chairs for scientific merit and ease of presentation. To see the complete list of the previous Student Poster Award recipients please visit Winners will be presented with a cash award and certificate of achievement.